Constitution of the Sovereign Peoples’ Assembly

Article One – Name
The Assembly shall be designated as The Sovereign Peoples’ Assembly of (name of community).

Article Two – Purpose
The Assembly shall be an elected self-governing body of the People established to introduce, debate and enact any laws or regulations decided by the People, and to generally govern and protect the community under the rule of the Common Law.

Article Three – Authority and Power
The Assembly is a de jure sovereign body not subject to any other authority besides that of similar sovereign Assemblies whose delegates gather in an elected Republican Congress. It shall have the full and undivided power of a governing legislative body, unrestricted by veto or interference, including the power to levy taxes, raise a Citizens’ Militia, seize and reclaim the wealth, land and properties of the nation, and establish and maintain local Common Law courts of justice.

Article Four – Convention
The Assembly shall be convened in an accessible public place on the first Monday of every month at 10 am. It shall remain in session according to the will of its participants.

Article Five – Structure
The Assembly shall act as a body at large in all of its deliberations, according to a majority vote system of either open or closed balloting, and according to this Constitution. The Assembly shall be administered by an elected Convener, who shall preside at and chair all sessions of the Assembly, and by an Executive body and Corresponding Secretary. The Executive shall meet separately every week to maintain the daily operations of the Assembly, its courts and its Militia.

Article Six – Establishment
The Assembly shall be established by the common agreement and pledge of at least twelve men or women in a community, under a Charter. The original signatories to this Charter shall assume no guaranteed role or privilege within the Assembly unless thus delegated and elected to a position by the People in Assembly.

Article Seven – Adjunct bodies
Either the Assembly as a whole or the Executive body shall have the power to create the following officers and bodies under the authority of the Assembly and this Constitution:

  1. A Citizens’ Militia to safeguard the safety and liberty of the Assembly and the community as a whole
  2. A Sheriff and staff of deputies to provide security to the Assembly and to raise and train the Citizens’ Militia
  3. Local common law courts
  4. Official delegates to represent the Assembly and the local community within a wider Republican Congress
  5. Local Republican banks or credit unions to safeguard the wealth of the community
  6. Land trusts and cooperative rural communities
  7. Special Commissions and Grand Juries of the Assembly to investigate and make recommendations.
  8. Any other body required for the wellbeing of the Assembly and the People

Article Eight – Limitations
Neither the Assembly nor its Executive nor any adjunct body shall enact any legislation, regulation or course of action that is contrary to this Constitution and its common law. The Executive of the Assembly shall have no veto or nullification power over the decisions of the Assembly unless those decisions violate the terms of this Constitution.

Article Nine – Term of Office
The Convener of the Assembly shall have a term of office of one year, and may not serve more than three consecutive terms. The Corresponding Secretary and other Executive positions shall operate for terms of office established by the Assembly. All Assembly Sheriffs shall be elected for a term of office of one year.

Article Ten – Amendments
This Constitution may be amended by vote of three quarters (75%) of the members of the Assembly, provided these amendments do not violate the Constitution and common law.